Our history dates back to Victorian Era Newcastle, where a young Frederick Robson established F. Robson & Co. on Dean Street in 1867.
Originally, the work mainly involved the manufacture of measuring equipment such as slide rules and barometers. However, the introduction of the NHS in the 1940s, and NHS-funded sight care along with it, changed the primary focus of the business towards the more familiar supply of spectacles that is seen today.
Robson’s has had a rich history – it was one of the first practices to install a slit lamp (found in all opticians practices today) and was often the location of local Contact Lens Society meetings as a result.
Since 1919, the practice has been located in a Grade II listed building, 16 Pilgrim Street, and it is still there to this day.